Expanding upon one dimension of “Hell”

Yesterday I got into “it” with a Christian, over a post I made that was shared by one of my fellow Atheists. The post’s exact words were: “As an atheist I can celebrate Easter too. This Easter I’m free from mental dissonance, I’m free from having to believe there’s a supernatural cause to anything, and I’m free to believe in mankind knowing that nothing supernatural will ever help mankind to be free of the problems that plague it. I’m celebrating freedom by embracing mankind’s potential. As an atheist I am free. ‪#‎SecularwhileEaster‬ ‪#‎Atheistduringresurrection‬

I really don’t think those words were triggering, or offensive, just a secular version of a holiday loaded with magic, and hope. But this status was shared by an acquaintance who happens to be an Atheist. His “shared” post, was met with ridicule and scorn, by Christians who claimed because of our “pride” we’d be banished to hell. Because of that, I want to expand upon a prior post I made, entitled “Hell”

He himself spoke of God and of the notion of any crime befitting a punishment of an eternity of suffering. His example was fascinating, and I believe it’s important to talk about the specific example he used.

People go I’m a good enough person to go to heaven.

Let’s find out.

You go into a court room for speeding
He says “You have a 400$ fine”

But you go “No no judge, don’t mind that speeding, I pay my taxes and go to school, I donate to charity’s sometimes etc. “

He’s still gonna be like “Yeah, that’s good but you still broke the law, you must pay”

That’s why a perfect man, JESUS paid our fine.”

That was his exact example. So of course I questioned him. Because the notion that a “speeding ticket” or the divine equivalent of one, will result in an eternal damnation is one that shouldn’t scare, but rather amuse. If we’re expected to believe that God is actually all-good, then we should also expect him to have at least a tiny bit of mercy. But that mercy shouldn’t come at the expense of Jesus. If anything, true mercy is genuine forgiveness, without the notion of blood, or sacrifice anywhere therein.

The notion that Hell is eternal, and that there is no leniency whatsoever should be a difficult one to fuse with the concept of an all-good, God. And the notion that in order to step into Heaven, you must fall to your knees and give yourself to Jesus, is one that should also make a person question God.

I suppose you could say I’m a bit more than a Atheist. I do not believe God exists, but even more than that, I wouldn’t worship him even if he existed, BECAUSE he existed. Someone creating something alone does not make that person worthy of praise. If a parent gives birth to you, but abuses you, and beats to the brink of death once a week, would that person be worthy of worship and or praise? I would need evidence that God is truly all-loving, and all-good, before I worshiped him. And at least to me, the death of Jesus isn’t compelling. I’m horrified at the thought of someone murdering their only son, under the guise of obtaining forgiveness for me. If I want to be forgiven, I would one, actually have needed to do something worth being offended by, and my mere existence alone does not qualify an offense worthy of being offended over, and two: expect that a good creature could forgive me, without blood, without murdering someone else to sate his blood-lust. 

The notion that any sin EVER deserves the death penalty, but worse, for all of eternity, is so absurd it makes me wonder how people truly believed it. If I lied to a gunman who wanted to find my friends and murder them, that doesn’t deserve the death penalty+. If I stole some food because I was literally starving, that doesn’t deserve the death penalty+. And the notion that someone had to literally die, for me to be worthy enough to ask for forgiveness, for stealing something I needed to live, is absurd.

I’m going to respond to some comments made by someone who followed my blog (Thanks Colie, you rock!)

1: Evil could certainly be considered a byproduct of free-will. And I’d like to believe, that if God did exist (which I respectfully don’t think he does), he’d still consider man worthy of free-will. I like to believe he’d find those of us who strive to defeat evil, more worthy than those who chose to commit evil for the sake of evil.

2: I don’t know of any reason to consider “Hell” a relative term in the Bible. I think the punishment for the Anti-Christ is pretty not relative. I think eternal pain, or eternal oblivion is not relative. Yes people can use it “relatively” but I meant it in a biblical sense. Though I understand what you’re saying. This reminds me of that argument that people say “hell” is separation from God. The Bible seems to be saying something else. The Christian Broadcast Network has an interesting article on this, which is certainly worth reading if you’re interested in at least one other interpretation of Hell. It discusses both the “separation” aspect and the “terrible fire” aspect. Certainly worth a read. It also briefly mentions the notion of Jesus’s suffering being necessary. It shouldn’t be. It really, really shouldn’t be. This article also talks about the notion that “You know of God!” by saying (and I quote) “Therefore the spiritual standard for America would be the gospel of Jesus and everything in the Old and New Testaments. But someone who grew up in an uncivilized jungle might be held to account for the fact that something in his conscience told him there is a Creator worthy of his worship”. This is not the way it works. A baby does not of God. A baby does not have unconscious knowledge of Jesus.

Here’s that article: https://www.cbn.com/spirituallife/cbnteachingsheets/FAQ_hell.aspx

If you enjoyed this, and or want to hear more from my point of view, on the topic, comment! Have a great day everyone!

Expanding upon one dimension of “Hell”

5 thoughts on “Expanding upon one dimension of “Hell”

  1. Being so new to word press I hope I’m responding to the right post!

    Anyway, you said it yourself “…. Loaded with Magic and hope”.

    Hope. We all need it, like water. Your hope may be placed elsewhere but for a Christian, their hope is placed in god.
    People are zealots. Their love for God is like a raging fire; and that is a positive in and of itself. They run into problems when they bring their fire to someone else’s door. That analogy is twisted, I know, but eh ;).
    You can’t pass your torch to someone who’s not In the race; and honestly, what does it matter? Why should you be forced to love the same things I love just because I feel I’m right? That goes both ways too. Why are athesits antagnostic towards christians because they feel they are right?

    In the end, we all die; we have also all lived. Living is where you will know your own version of heaven or hell. If there is peace in your heart during this life, why fear the unknown? As a Christian I can read the bible everyday until I die, but only know the bibles true definitation of hell or heaven once I get there. Until then, I’m going to create my own heave (aka peace) right now, while I live.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Guiding Hope and commented:
    I am a novice so I won’t pretend to be a billy graham, not that I would want to be anyway.

    I always find it interesting that atheists can quote scripture better than most christians; as christians, we should take a lesson.

    With that said, it’s hard to understand what the phrase “the living word” truly means if you have never felt the energy that radiates from the pages. It truly takes a guiding hand to comprehend the basic lessons each scripture teaches even more so to understand the symbolism hidden within the pages.

    The term relative to describe hell might have been a bad choice. Let’s try static. To think of hell as static is asinine. I can’t say for sure what hell looks like after your dead as I’m still alive but I am very secure in my claim that heaven and hell are here and now, it’s the life we choose for ourselves.

    I fell christians have lost their way in today’s religious circles. You have the one day a week Christian, pastors that are bottom feeders and are only in it for the Rolex, concert church services, and worse of all; the closed mind. As I said earlier, you can’t interpret the bible without guidance or an open mind. They shun *sin* but can’t even truly define the word. I’m going to use a hot topic issue as an example, homosexuality.

    Christians abhor the life style. They condemn the practicing homosexuals like they are a plague to our society. I have had several run ins with pastors on this very issue and it is something I can not waiver on. Are we god? Are we privy to a gay mans conversations with God? If you answered no to both of those questions it is not your place to pass judgement. Your only place is to love and guide when asked by the person to do so. Homosexuality being a sin or not, that is something to be decided between the person and god.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The thing about the statement that most Atheists don’t get the “living word” due to a lack of understanding of “energy” is something I’d disagree with. I came into college as a Catholic. I went to a Christian middle school and was Catholic throughout most of my life. But there isn’t any form of “energy” coming off of scripture. There just isn’t. And I know plenty of Atheists and Agnostics who had a somewhat similar background.

    This notion of “energy” comes from a sense of fulfillment. It may seem like it is wedged deep in the human psyche, but it sincerely isn’t. It’s similar to the sensation of elation that comes when participating in group activities, even ones as passive as sitting at a concert, or at a church. The Bible isn’t divinely inspired. It doesn’t take any form of “guiding hand” to truly understand scripture. I’m not saying scripture is simple, because it isn’t. But I am saying that no one truly guides a persons interpretation of the Bible. This is part of the reason for so many different churches, and beliefs, that all stemmed from more or less the same source. If there was some sort of true understanding of the Bible, I can guarantee you, that there’d be only one faction of Christians. Or at the very least less than 41,000 denominations, (which is the number according to Wikipedia, which may be wrong, but odds are that isn’t horrifically far off). The Bible isn’t universal. And that in and of itself isn’t necessarily a bad thing. People make Christianity their own. It doesn’t work in reverse. Some might disagree, but I’d say that Christianity is made by people, not that people are changed by Christianity. Some people do feel changed by the religion, but the reality is, that the religion itself is transformed by people.

    But I like the way you see the religion. It’s nice 🙂

    Like

  4. I use the term energy very loosely. I have a very specific definition in my mind that I quit explaining to the general public for two reasons 1) I don’t like the term empath as I am not into mysticism. 2) people just can’t grasp what I mean. I will write something up later to use as a reference so I can finally stop explaining my definition of energy and just direct people tobthe specific blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

