Writing to Live and some other shit

Nice political title right?

I write because I love writing. I write because I’ve got words in my head and sometimes the only thing I can do to keep from going crazy is write them down somewhere. Sometimes it seriously is just about the only thing that keeps me from losing it.

I write because I dream of a world where I’m not bogged down by a 9-5 job. I write because I dream of a world where I manage to graduate from college, without a dollar in student debt, and where I can almost immediately pay off my girlfriend’s student debt.

I write because novels were my best friend growing up. Novels took me place, and taught me things I’d never have learned on my own. And I want to be that friend to both kids and adults one day. I want my books to change an otherwise boring day into a wonderful one filled with magical adventures.

I don’t want to be stuck in one place. I want to be mobile, and I want to be where my books have gone. I want to meet people who’ve read my work and already consider me a friend.

I write because I want an extraordinary life. I write because I want a form of immortality, a form of life beyond me. And I think writing is the most positive way I can get that.

Writing to Live and some other shit

Leave a Reply

