Honest Honduran News.

Today’s been exciting. I announced the beginning of a new group, Honest Honduran News, and got over 30 responses in the space of 5 hours. This is a quick post talking about the HHN prior to me going to bed.

The HHN is my response to the BBC’s article on La Chiki, a Honduran YouTuber who is apparently more news-worthy than the Honduran Constitutional Crisis which is on-going. I’m tired of the shitty ass news articles that are posted by major media publications about events going on in Honduras. And it is clear that I’m not alone in how I feel given the strength of the positive reactions which met my announcement. It probably helps that almost every day I post on Honduras Weekly about news in Honduras. But still the strength of the response which met me was shocking.

But you might be asking, what I want to do with the HHN. Well I want to challenge major media machines. I want to force them to improve the quality of their articles. I want to force them to address the issues facing Hondurans in their articles on Honduras. I want to force them to stop writing such weak articles on Honduras for the sake of making a quick buck off of my country. I want to make them step up their journalistic game.

I also want to contribute to the conversation about Honduras. I want to reach out to groups interested in Honduras and talk to them about the problems plaguing Honduras. I want them to know the truth, no matter how good or bad that truth might be. I want to create a community and an organization devoted to the notion that non-Spanish speakers deserve honest, reliable, resources about Honduras.

Here’s a bit of an overview I wrote earlier and posted on Facebook.

I’m in the process of creating a group of dedicated writers who want to challenge the way English media reports on Honduras.

Our mission is to challenge the massive media corporations who see Honduras as a place to write short articles and make a quick buck. Our mission is to educate English-speakers and other non-Spanish speakers when it comes to Honduras. We want to exist as an alternative to Fox, New York Times, BBC, the Guardian, and other major media corporations who rarely address our country, and when they do they don’t go far enough.

We want to operate both in Honduras, and in other places, where Hondurans live, and we want to work to promote awareness of the conditions our countrymen face. We want to challenge the narrative that Hondurans don’t want change. We want to demonstrate Honduran excellence. We want to connect Hondurans all over the world and remind everyone that Honduras exists, and that it’s people are a people who live perpetually in danger, but don’t succumb to it. That we as a society are more than victims, we are survivors, we are warriors, we are a country with promise, one that faces danger but doesn’t lose hope.

We are tired of our country being talked about by people who don’t care about us. By people who don’t talk to us directly and instead talk ABOUT us as if we don’t exist.

I want to get people involved, both Honduran and not Honduran, who already have a great level of awareness, and are completely new to the conversation. I do want to have a business in Honduras, that I can use to help Hondurans who want opportunities, who want the chance to flourish, who want hope.

If you would like to know more, about us, about the group, and about our mission, “like” or comment on this status!”

If you are interested, let me know! I’d absolutely love to chat with you! 🙂 Lets change the way the world talks about Honduras. Together.

Honest Honduran News.

Leave a Reply

